A letter to my readers

Posted on November 1, 2010

6


Dear readers,

Since the launching of Travel with Den Den I have been posting multiple articles every week and enjoying every minute of it. I also loved interacting with you via all your comments and feedback. For those of you out there who follow me regularly, I thought you’d might want to know about some changes which will come into effect soon regarding this blog…basically I won’t be able to publish this often, and there might be periods of time when you’ll get sporadic or no posts at all.

But here’s the thing. I don’t want to just abandon you. I want to explain exactly why this is going to happen. Well, here it goes…this blog takes up a lot of my time, but it doesn’t add anything to my bank account – I know that this sounds awful, but let’s face it. One cannot live of bread and writing blogs alone. For some time I tried to look into methods of monetizing it, but the technical knowledge required to do this and find advertisers willing to place ads on my website was just overwhelming (I am very bad at technological stuff) so I gave up on that plan.  What I did do, however, was start trying to write articles for other websites for which I would actually get paid. This plan has luckily paid off. While of course I’ve only just started , and I receive a modest amount for my work, with more original articles and perseverance I’ll hopefully start making a bit more money – So that’s it. Writing such articles is taking a lot of my time but paying off financially, and despite being sad about it, I have to take the time I’d otherwise invest in my blog to find and write new paid assignments. I would also like to try and fulfil the project of a lifetime – Completing a fiction novel whose first 15,000 words I’ve already written. Finally, I’ll also be spending a lot of time trying to get my partner and myself a working visa to Australia.

Having said all this, it’s not like I’m going to totally abandon my blog – I still have 7 weeks of Istanbul-related posts planned (2 posts each) which I’ll be publishing as soon as the whole set is finished, and I’ll also be posting links to the articles I’ll publishing elsewhere. I’ll try and always report back from the spots around the world I’ll get to visit, but next year it looks like they won’t be that many.

Finally, this won’t  change the fact that I am an internet addict and constantly (to an almost unhealthy degree) check my email, so comments and emails sent through the contact form will still be very much looked forward to and answered fairly quickly.

How about you? What are your plans for next year? I’d love to know, so drop me a line.

P.S. For now I’ll leave you with a few images from Istanbul and ask you to stay tuned for the posts. You might want to subscribe to make sure you don’t miss any.

Posted in: News