Pictures take you places – Seoul’s Museums

Posted on August 9, 2010

0


After a few years of travelling, I discovered that I had developed a love-hate relationship with Museums and Art Galleries. I still cannot really pinpoint what sort of museum I like or dislike, but all I know is that with all the ones I’ve visited I’ve either found myself totally loving them or absolutely hating them – nothing in between. But the only two museums I came across in Seoul both hit the love-button for entirely different reasons.

The Leuum Museum is wonderfully constructed in that it requires you to take a lift to the top floor and then slowly descent level by level through a spiral staircase for the next floor of exhibits. The Leuum features both a beautifully displayed collection of ancient traditional Korean art and artifacts and a more provocative modern art wing, with the same go-up-the-lift-and-then-make-your-way-down concept.  I may not be a fan of modern art, but the way the different objects were displayed and the interest of the building itself made me love it anyway, in the same way that despite disliking its message, I love the Tate Modern in London.

 

The reason why I fell in love with another of Seoul’s museums has really very little to do with anything other than the fact that the idea behind it is so quirky that it simply has to be good. I present you, my dear readers, the Chicken Museum of art, Seoul. Who needs Picasso, Michelangelo or Van Gogh when you can opt for a bunch of chickens in different shapes, materials, styles and sizes? Certainly not me…

-Text and Photography by Denise Pulis @ www.travelwithdenden.worpress.com, all rights reserved

