Almonds in my Hot Chocolate – Seoul’s ‘Coffee Mill’

Posted on July 22, 2010

4


 It’s been more than a year since I came back from a one-month long trip to South Korea, and I am still flooded with a thousand fond memories every time I think about it, which is often, if you care to know. Till this day, I become slightly upset when I hear people saying that Seoul is nothing special, because my impression of the place couldn’t have been more different. One of the things I remember more clearly is sitting in a place whose name can be translated into ‘Coffee Mill’ and removing flakes of almonds from my hot chocolate for 5 minutes. This fact might have been more annoying had I not been busy taking a look at the cafe itself; mismatched chairs, wooden tables filled with etchings made roughly by customers to commemorate their visits, and walls plastered full with the cafe’s signature napkins scribbled over with messages, again from those who had visited. I left my own messy napkin somewhere on that wall, and while I certainly like my hot chocolate without almond flakes (the one thing I probably hate the most in the world of food), the cafe’s waffles, advertised on a menu made out of the remnants of a cardboard box, gave me nothing to complain about. You will find ‘Coffee Mill’ somewhere east of Gyeongbok Palace in the Samcheong-dong neighborhood. I’m afraid it’s hard to get more specific than that as street names signs do not really exist in Seoul. Check their website for their phone number at the end of the page. Everything else is in Korean, which I’m afraid I can read but not understand.

P.S ‘Coffee Mill’ is best enjoyed with a Korean friend (as also should be the rest of Seoul).

 -Text and Photography by Denise Pulis @ www.travelwithdenden.wordpress.com

