Why I love Zurich – The Masoala Rainforest

Posted on April 3, 2010

1


If you live in Europe, you might think that the closest rainforest to you is somewhere in Rwanda, but you don’t have to head towards the equator for your little piece of paradise. Just get yourself to Zurich zoo and its absolutely wonderful Masoala rainforest enclosure, the largest of its kind in Europe, where you will find 11,000 square metres of carefully replicated rainforest habitats, with, amongst other creatures, lemurs, tortoises and chameleons.
When I visited for the first time, it was my 24th birthday. I walked among a path bordered by huge trees and giant ferns, and posed under one of them to give to the people back home a sense of just how large the plant leaves were. I looked up when the scrambling of lemurs resounded in the tree tops and silently observed a chameleon blending in with his surroundings. Then when I was hungry, I retired to the nearby cafe and restaurant, where, since one entire wall was made of glass overlooking the enclosure, I sat and munched at a chocolate muffin while watching a cattle egret elegantly wade across the rainforest’s pond.
The Masoala rainforest in Zurich is a conservation project which supports the real Masoala rainforest National park in Madagascar and helps protect its species, fund educational programmes for the public and keep infrastructure up and running, thus guaranteeing long term protection.

 

– Text and Photography by Denise Pulis @ www.travelwithdenden.wordpress.com

Posted in: Zurich