Korean TV

Posted on April 3, 2010

0


Original post, February 2 2009

Picture the following situation. I have just woken up from a six hour sleep, taken in the middle of the day, and which, right when I opened my eyes at 11 pm, I knew would spoil any possible chance I had of sleeping tonight. I spend some time on the internet, catching up with emails and people, then, in a very wishful thinking manner, I announce to my best friend that I was going to try and get some sleep. I switch off everything and settle into bed. Although I am pretty tired, I have too many things on my mind to be able to drift into slumber. I end up thinking of a million things, of my past, present and future, trying to make sense of it, but I can’t. The television remote control is temptingly close.
I reach for it, push the ‘on’ button and start to flick through the 70 something channels, most of which are of course, Korean. I come across a program where a bunch of men and women are sitting in what looks like a sauna, with hats made of towels in the shape of ‘Star War’’s Princess Leia’s hair style, you know, with the two buns on each side of the head. They are all talking and laughing, but of course, the topic of conversation is beyond me. I flip to another channel. This time it’s some kind of song contest, featuring Koreans, but also a Canadian, a French, a New Zealander and an American girl speaking really good Korean. All of a sudden I regret not having tried to learn some basics before I actually got here. I admire the girls and listen in amazement while not understanding anything beyond ‘yes’ and ‘no’. I flick through some more channels. Korean writing whizzes past me too quickly for me to read. That is another thing which I have to practise more. And then finally, I come across a Korean Jazz concert, and, settling comfortably on my bed with my laptop on my lap, I listen to the excellent music, music which, goes beyond any language or culture barrier. Yes, the beauty of music.

– Text and Photography by Denise Pulis @ www.travelwithdenden.wordpress.com

Posted in: South Korea