Guesthouse Korea (Accommodation)

Posted on April 3, 2010

0


Before booking a double room for 30 days at Guesthouse Korea in Seoul, I had browsed through its home page and read a few reviews. I therefore already knew that the decor in the room would be basic, but I couldn’t really comment on that (and neither should you), considering the rock bottom prices. While inquiring about some issues through email with the guesthouse staff, I had a few problems understanding the details because the writer’s English was far from up to scratch. When I asked whether they provided towels and had wi-fi in the rooms, I got the reply ‘yes’ and ‘no’ respectively. When I arrived, however, I discovered it was exactly the other way round. Luckily, I had still decided to bring my laptop but I had no towels to dry myself with for the first night.
Here is a comprehensive list of what I found to be the guesthouse’s pluses and (minor) minuses, just because I know you expect me to be a bit fussy in my reviews.

Plus                                                                  

Ensuite bathroom                                      

Spotless bathroom                                                                                                                 

TV with English channels    

Refrigerator in room

Under floor heating making for a cosy room

free laundry facilities

basic breakfast included

no curfew

friendly staff      

% of discount depending on the
length of your stay

close to many attractions and a few minutes
away from the nearest subway station

in a quiet street, away from road noise

Minus

shower drain may be a bit clogged

accumulation of months of dirt and left overs from other guests under the bed

torn patches in the mustard wallpaper

(The online booking system is a bit dodgy, I suggest you inquire by email)

I would never give this place a negative review, in fact, I thoroughly recommend it. After all, I spent a month in this place and felt at home there at the end, the price was a bargain, the staff always ready to help, the room warm and the shower always piping hot.
So if you can stand the old wallpaper and the dust under you bed (you can always politely ask that it get cleaned, though I  personally never really minded much, so I just let it be), the Guesthouse Korea is Seoul will not disappoint you. And if you’re travelling alone and want to meet fellow travellers, it’s so small and cosy that you’re guaranteed to have opportunities to do so.

For more information visit http://www.guesthouseinkorea.com/

– Text and Photography by Denise Pulis @ www.travelwithdenden.wordpress.com

Posted in: Seoul